Pumpkin Chai Sausage with Lapsang Souchong rice

Standard

I’m back! The new job is still kicking my butt, but I’m back, sorta. Essentially I made this tonight and didn’t want to lose the recipe, so I’m sharing it here. It is soooooo good. It started here, I actually made this recipe last week, but the apples and spices turned it into a sweet/savory mix we didn’t particularly care for. So I tried it again tonight, taking out the apples and the spices and adding a kick of chili powder.

It is so, so good. I’m not a fan of onions, I might use onion powder next time instead of fresh onion, but I’ll leave that decision up to you. So here we go:
1 package of sausage (I used Original Grill-Em’s)
1 yellow onion, chopped
1/2 cup chopped carrots
3 cups already cooked long-grain rice (I cooked the rice in Lapsang Souchong Star from DavidsTea)
1/2 T Chili Powder
1 cup Pumpkin Chai or chicken stock or water
2 cloves garlic chopped finely

So, put 1/3 of the liquid (Pumpkin Chai, in my case) in a skillet and let it start to warm up. Slice your sausages as thin or as thick as you like them and put them in the skillet, cooking and stirring until they are browned and cooked. Add them to the rest of the ingredients in the crockpot, including the rest of the cup of liquid. Let cook on low for 5-6 hours and there you have it! Tasty, tasty sausage and rice!

One thought on “Pumpkin Chai Sausage with Lapsang Souchong rice

  1. I’ve found with onions that I much prefer them when they’re either a) finely chopped and lightly cooked OR b) cooked to the point of carmelization.

    Oh, and c) Outback Bloomin’ Onion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

