Teapots! Lily of the valley

Standard

This teapot is one of my favorites, but I could really say that about all of them. But this one has a rich tradition behind it that I’m proud to take part in.

I’m typing this from my parents’ home in Tennessee, and I’m suddenly filled with longing for my teapots. Isn’t it funny how some things make you so very homesick? This teapot reminds me of my first summer in Toronto and trips to the Farmer’s Market at St. Jacobs…I’m getting ahead of myself.

Saint Jacobs is a gorgeous little community about an hour or so away from us. They have a Farmer’s Market full of locally grown deliciousness and a flea market full of hidden treasure you never knew you needed. It holds a very special place in my heart. You see, as long as I can remember, I’ve collected cards. I love to play cards (Rummy, Euchre, Spades…), so for me, they’re a practical souvenir that I can get a lot of use out of. For instance, the other night my father sat down with my deck of Scotland cards and started looking at them, telling me about all the places he’d visited and how much fun he’d had when over there. The pictures, whether it just be a picture on the back or a different picture on every card, can evoke tons of memories. What better way to break the ice than with a game of cards where the cards themselves trigger memories for everyone playing? Anyway, my then-fiancee and I traipsed all over Saint Jacobs during my first trip out to Toronto to meet her. By the time we headed inside to the flea market/antiques mall, I was exhausted. I’d been looking for cards, but to no avail. De found a bench for me and the many purchases we’d made and sat me down, promising to return in just a moment. She came back, beaming, and shyly handed me a deck of Saint Jacob’s cards. I very nearly cried…I keep that deck in my purse with me at all times. It was easily the sweetest gift I’ve ever been given.

Hidden in the market is a little pottery shop. For years, every time mother in law visited St. Jacob’s, she picked up a piece of pottery for her kitchen in her favorite pattern: pansies. It became a tradition, and now every time we’re there, we look for something she doesn’t have, but she owns most everything in that particular pattern. So, the first time my wife and I visited St. Jacob’s after our wedding, I picked out a pattern. I’ve always loved lily of the valley, so it just seemed perfect. Also, our kitchen is a dark purple, our bedroom a sage green, and our living room a pretty blue, so the colors on the teapot match perfectly. (Don’t knock a purple kitchen until you’ve tried it!) It made me feel like part of the family, that my wife felt this is something I should do.  So every time I look at this pretty little teapot I smile and think of my mother-in-law and the tradition we both share, as well as thinking of my wife and that first perfect gift.

One thought on “Teapots! Lily of the valley

Leave a Reply

