Zing Me eggrolls

Standard

I have to admit, the tea I use for this recipe is no longer carried by DavidsTea. Sad. But any tea with ginger will work, Zing me is a mix of black tea, ginger, peach, and apricot. A good friend of mine believes Geisha Plum, a plum green tea would work as well, but I’ll leave that testing to him, I’m not a fan of greens. DavidsTea does make a ginger Pu-erh I might try when my tin of Zing Me runs out.

I babble. My mother has made eggrolls as a treat for as long as I can remember. They are a lot of work, but the payoff is so worth it. My wife loves eggrolls, but we just can’t stomach the idea of greasy, deep-fried, sodium-filled takeout. So I set out to make my own. It took a lot of trial and error, but here they are: my favorite eggroll recipe. The jumping off point is here. As always, t=teaspoon and T=Tablespoon

Difficulty: Hard at first, but practice makes perfect!

Ingredients:

1 bag coleslaw mix (I am not in to trying to slice cabbage as thin as I need it. We like the kind with extra carrots)

1-2 c diced chicken (or leftover pot roast works well here, or pork…whatever meat you’ve got leftover.)

2 T strong Zing Me tea, or any ginger or plum or apricot tea…anything you want to try here!

8 t cornstarch

2 Tย  soy sauce (we use low sodium)

2 t vegetable oil

2 t brown sugar

1/2 t cayenne pepper

Directions:

In a large pan, cook the coleslaw and chicken for just a few minutes until it is still crisp, but tender. Mix the remaining ingredients together and pour over the coleslaw mix. Bring this to a boil and cook for about two minutes before removing from the heat.

The tricky part lies in the eggrolls. Oil your cookie sheet well with non-stick spray before starting, and get a small bowl of water. Take out your first egg roll wrapper and place about a heaping tablespoon at one end. Fold the sides in and roll it up as tightly as you can, wetting the seam to keep it sealed. Repeat as many times as needed to fill your eggroll wrappers.

Place the eggrolls seam-down on your cookie sheet and spray the top with a nonstick cooking spray. Cook at 425 for five minutes, and then flip all of them over. Cook for another five minutes and flip onto their sides. Put them back into the oven and keep an eye on them, taking them out when they’re brown enough for your tastes.

Dip in soy sauce or plum sauce and enjoy!

One thought on “Zing Me eggrolls

  1. I love eggrolls, too.

    If you have a good food processor with a shredder attachment you can get perfectly sized veggies and still be lazy. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My boyfriend and I don’t know where we’d be without our food processor. Saves us money, too, since we can shred big blocks of cheese rather than buying pre-shredded.

    But yeah, it works awesome for egg roll filling. Last time, we did napa cabbage, kohlrabi, radish, and carrot.

    Another tip: If you find your filling is dripping, squeeze the excess liquid out before putting it on the wrapper. It makes for better eggrolls.

    (Oh, and we pan-fry them rather than deep fry. Haven’t tried baking yet. May do that next time.) ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

