Lapsang Souchong Meatloaf

Standard

Oh my goodness. I thought my wife loved me after the Zing Me scones, but after this meatloaf…well. As long as I make this every week or so, we will have absolutely no marital problems. The original recipe comes from here, but I’ve made a few changes. We’re on a budget, so I can’t imagine ever using a pound and a half of beef for a single dish. However, if you are on a low sodium diet like we are, that website’s recipe archive is a godsend and a great resource. I use a recipe from there at least once a week. Also, I hope you haven’t gotten too used to pictures with my recipes, as I tend to cook while my wife is out, and taking pictures while cooking, well, it’s a recipe for disaster. There will occasionally be pictures, but only when she is home and willing to be my own personal paparazzi.

*steps up onto my soapbox*

A low sodium lifestyle is not a low flavor lifestyle. Especially not with the use of tea in your cooking. Think about it. If you’re on a diet that restricts your fat, sodium, or caloric intake, what could be better than something that is crazy affordable and adds a ton of flavor without adding any fat, sodium, or calories. Tea literally adds nothing to a dish but flavor. I know I sound crazy, but I really can’t stress that enough. Anywhere there is water in a dish, you can replace it with tea. Or milk, it’s possible to steep tea in milk as well.

To be quite honest, when you begin to cut back the sodium in your diet, you begin to taste the natural flavors of your food. Salt can burn your tastebuds so easily. A pinch of salt does enhance flavor. However, a handful dulls out any flavor other than salt. A good rule of thumb is that if a recipe calls for salt, cut it in half, something my mother has done for as long as I can remember.

*steps down*

Enough of that. On to the recipe!

Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients:

1 c strong Lapsang Souchong

1/2 lb Ground Beef

1/2 lb Ground Turkey

1 c Low sodium breadcrumbs

1 Onion, Finely Chopped

1 Egg

1/4 t Black Pepper

1 5.5 oz can of low sodium tomato paste

2 t Worcestershire Sauce

3 T White Vinegar

2 T Mustard

3 T Brown Sugar

Directions:

Mix half of the Lapsang Souchong with the can of tomato paste, making a smoky tomato sauce.

Mix together the beef, turkey, breadcrumbs, onion, egg, black pepper and half of the tomato sauce. Mix it all together. You can use a spoon, but why bother when you’ve got two perfectly good hands that are much better at the job? Make sure it is all mixed and put it in a loaf pan, shaping it into, well, a loaf!

In a separate bowl, mix together everything else: the remaining lapsang, remaining tomato sauce, Worcestershire, vinegar, mustard, and sugar. I put mine through my Magic Bullet to ensure a smooth sauce, but I’m sure the same effect could be done with a whisk.

Pour the sauce over the meat and cook it in a 350 degree oven for an hour an a half.

It just turns out lovely. It’s juicy without being greasy, and that sauce is to die for. It’s not completely without salt, but it’s low sodium enough for me to feel good about serving it. The laspsang give it an extra layer of smoky goodness that isn’t to be missed!

I hope you try this and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

