Crockpot Bacon Potato Soup

Standard

I have so much love in my heart for this soup. It’s creamy without the cream, it’s bacony without the bacon…it’s everything bad for you without the bad for you part! It’s just darn tasty! And it freezes beautifully, which always makes me think of Steel Magnolias. “This is in the freezes beautifully section of my cookbook, and I wanted to bring something that freezes beautifully.” No pictures for this post, y’all, I always forget that part. Feel free to use whatever seasoned salt or chicken stock you have on hand, I’m just including my notes for those living on a low sodium diet. Be sure to peel the potatoes, I didn’t my first time making this, and it turned out a very unappetizing gray color.

Original recipe from here with a few changes made.

Difficulty: So very easy

Ingredients:

5 pound of potatoes, peeled and diced

4 cloves of garlic

1 tsp seasoned salt (I use the seasoned un-salt from here)

1 tsp pepper

6 c chicken stock (I make my own using the Mayo Clinic low sodium recipe found here)

2 c Lapsang Souchong Star

Directions:

It couldn’t be easier.

Add the potatoes and garlic to your crockpot.

Stir in your spices.

Add your liquids.

Cook on low for 8 hour or high for 4.

I used an immersion blender to smooth out my soup, but a regular blender would work just as well. Just be sure to open the vent hole in the lid of your blender and use a towel to prevent splattering.

There you are! A delicious, easy potato soup that really does taste like it already has bacon. I like to add a little bit of cheddar cheese, but it’s not essential to the tastiness.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

