Zing Me Scones (From Cooking Simplicitea)

Standard

Oh my goodness. These scones…I made them the first time around with Earl’s Garden (which is Earl Grey with berries, my wife’s favorite) and dried blueberries and cherries as payment to my wife for letting me have yet another trip to DavidsTea. They turn out light and fluffy and while on their own they can taste a bit dry, pair them with your favorite tea or a big glass of soy milk and I promise, you’ll be in heaven. This time I paired Zing Me Tea, which is a black tea with ginger, peach, and apricot, with dried peaches…as a good Southern girl, I love me some peaches. I think these scones will always have a place of honor in our home.

Difficulty: Easy to intermediate

Ingredients:

1/2 c strong, cool Zing Me Tea (Or any tea, really. I like the fruity ones best)

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup white sugar

5 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup butter

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup milk

1/2 c dried peaches, diced (Again, can be replaced with any dried fruit or nuts. I wouldn’t add more than a cup, though)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and lightly grease a cookie sheet.

Sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Cut the butter in with two knives or a pastry cutter until the butter is the size of small peas. If you’re using a stick of butter, an easy way to do this is freeze the butter and then grate it with a cheese grater into the mix. You want your butter cold – the colder the butter, the flakier the scone. Don’t overmix.

Crack the egg into a measuring cup and beat well. Add enough milk to make 1/2 c of the mixture. Then add the 1/2 c of tea. Dice your dried fruits if needed and add them to the dry mixture.

Add this mix to the dry ingredients tablespoon by tablespoon, mixing well after each addition, until the dough is moist. I only used 1/2 c of the mixture, but to be honest, it could have used a bit more liquid.

Pull the dough out onto a floured surface, kneading it gently until it’s workable. You could roll this out with a rolling pin, but I just patted it down into a rectangle.

Cut into twelve pieces, as shown, and move onto the baking sheet.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, but keep an eye on them. Once they’re golden brown on top, they’re done.

Enjoy! I know we are….I have earned my wife’s undying love with these scones, let me tell you.

Leave a Reply

