Forever Do-Nuts (from Cooking Simplicitea)

Standard

This recipe is an oldie but a goodie, my mother and I have been making these donuts for as long as I can remember! The original recipe came from a Salvation Army cookbook.They made these donuts to feed the homeless and as a result, it makes a ton! I’m only using a half recipe here, and I still managed to get 3 dozen donuts and 6 dozen donut holes! The Forever Nut adds a nice nutty, almondy flavor to it…don’t worry if it’s not as obvious at first, it’s coming! Best when dipped in milk!

Difficulty: Intermediate to Hard

Ingredients:

2/3 cup strong Forever Nut tea, or any tea that strikes your fancy, Cinnamon Heart would be good, or the Mint Chocolate Rooibos.

3 1/4 cups flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon melted butter

2/3 cup milk

at least 3 cups shortening

Directions:

Now, the directions I have written here from my mother are as follows: Mix, roll, cut out, and fry, but I’ll try to expand on that for y’all.

First of all, sift together all of the dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, and nutmeg.

Then, mix the rest in a separate bowl. Before tea:

After tea:

Yay pink! Okay, so then you mix the wet into the dry. I played with the recipe a bit by adding the tea, so you may find you need more or less flour. If it’s too sticky, you need more. If it won’t quite mix together, you need less, which is easy to fix by adding a few more drops of tea, but never more than a teaspoon at a time.

My dough could have used a bit more flour, but I was getting impatient! Take out half of the dough and set in out on floured surface, heavily floured. Trust me on this. Dust the top of the dough and your rolling pin with even more flour and start to roll it out. If it sticks to the rolling pin, you guessed it, more flour.

Begin cutting them out. I’m lucky enough to have a donut cutter (complete with removable hole!), but if you’re not, a drinking glass will work for the donut and the mouth or bottle cap of a 20 bottle will work for the hole. Just be sure to dip them in flour between each cut, or the dough could stick and well, then you don’t have a hole cutter anymore. Any small circular cutter will do.

Now, here comes the tricky part, and if you haven’t been doing it for years and years, I suggest working as a team for this bit, one person cutting the doughnuts out and the other frying them. My wife was my teammate today, it’s always good to have a butch on hand, just in case. If you do them alone, I would suggest cutting them all out and then frying them. Just be sure not to stack the raw dough, or they’ll get all stuck together.

You want to take your shortening and put it in a medium-size pot over medium heat until it melts. You want to test it with a donut hole, carefully putting it on a slotted spoon and slipping it into the oil. If it doesn’t rise to the top after a few seconds, the oil needs more time to heat up. If it cooks too quickly and burns within a minute or so, it’s too hot, turn down your temperature.

Try not to crowd your oil, stick with frying 2-3 donuts and 3-4 holes at a time. Be very careful with this, that is hot oil. I’ve burned myself many a time and it is not fun.

When they’re done, they will be golden brown. Lift them out with the same slotted spoon you put them in with. We’ve always dumped them into a cake pan or something, put the next batch in to fry, and then move the donuts to a rack lined with paper towels.

Do not, I repeat, DO NOT use plastic utensils for this. Learned that the hard way the first time I made them on my own. Use metal or wood…and yes, I know that’s a chopstick and not a slotted spoon…I don’t happen to own a metal slotted spoon, somehow.

Let them cool on the rack, and, well…eat!

I built a retaining wall out of donuts to keep the holes from rolling away. They’re best warm and dipped in milk (though I had quite a few more after I started dipping them in my Cinnamon Chai.)

Leave a Reply

