Teapots! Little “rose garden” tea for one set

Standard

I meant to start off my teapot posts with the first pot we received (a wedding gift from De’s best friend, Maddie), but I can’t. I just can’t. I am far too in love with one of our newest teapots.

This one came home from Nova Scotia with my mother-in-law a few days ago. Isn’t it cute? Apparently De’s aunt…well, De’s grandmother was giving away some of De’s aunt’s teapots, so my mother-in-law snatched them for us. She brought home two of these “tea for one” teapots for our collection.

I’ve seen these all over and I’ve always picked them up, looked them over, and set them back on the shelf. I didn’t understand them. If I was going to make a single cup of tea, why would I dirty a pot and then a cup? Yup, my decision not to buy was based on how lazy I want to be.

Still, now I have two, so I thought I’d give one a try. I fell in love with the cup. It’s shallow, but wide, so my tea cools quickly, which is a good thing in my book. And I was very pleased to find that one pot of tea fills the cup twice. And it’s just so darn pretty in the cup!

And drinking the tea became a new experience. Due to the wide mouth of the cup, all of your senses are taken over by tea. It sounds ridiculous, but it’s true. It’s kind of like wine drinkers with wine…the scent often adds to the tea-drinking experience.

In short, I had five pots of tea today, all thanks to this little fella.

My tea drinking for the day (with links to the review on Steepster)

Cranberry Autumn by Harney & Sons

Immunizer by DavidsTea

Pumpkin Chai by DavidsTea

Black Currant by Bulk Barn

Eric Northman by Adagio

 

2 thoughts on “Teapots! Little “rose garden” tea for one set

  1. Theresa Morris

    I’m so glad you like the teapot — and are using it!!! I guess its design is “tasteful” (yes, you know I love the pun), not just efficient.

Leave a Reply

