Tea Cooking Day! Santa’s Secret Divinity

Standard

Ah, it felt good to be back in the kitchen, experimenting with recipes again…it’s been far too long! And everything turned out beautifully, which makes me incredibly happy. Christmas is coming up and I usually do a massive amount of baking around this time of year. This year I decided to limit myself, since no one really eats the massive amounts of cookies I make anyway. But since Drew (my partner in crime over at Cooking Simplicitea) had suggested a Christmas-themed Tea Cooking Day, I decided to use it as my Christmas-cooking day, limiting myself to two recipes and a batch of Chex Mix. Because, really, what’s Christmas without Chex mix?

I started with the divinity, since it takes 2 hours to set and because the butter for the cookies needed to re-set. In researching divinity to try and explain it to Drew, I discovered it’s primarily a Southern thing, especially pecan divinity. When done right, divinity is a little sugary cloud that dissolves on your tongue….yum. I have a great amount of love in my heart for this candy and because it can be so fussy, Mom only made it rarely, so it’s always a treat to have.

The humidity outside is going to affect this candy. If it’s raining out, or if it’s the middle of summer, this candy likely won’t set up. Last year, my wife would chuckle at me for checking the weather every morning, looking for a cold, clear day. This year, starting in mid-October, every time we had a crisp fall day, she’d declare, “Ooooh, it’s good divinity weather!” I have taught her well. A good rule of thumb I discovered online the other day was that if you press your chin to your chest and it sticks a bit, it’s too humid for divinity. A bit crazy, but it works!

If you’ve never made candy before, divinity can be a bit daunting, but it’s really just science. I’m using my mother’s recipe with a few tweaks and changes, but this is the divinity I grew up with. Traditionally, divinity is to be piped into logs, but the idea of trying to clean that sticky goo from a pastry bag haunts my nightmares. I just use two teaspoons to plop a bit down on to wax paper or aluminum foil and go from there. Traditionally, a pecan is pressed into the top of the candy before it sets, I tend to leave that out, but in a few of these, I added some crushed peppermint…yum. On to the recipe!

You’ll need:

A non-stick pot (trust me, when cleaning up, you’ll thank me for this)

A candy thermometer

1/2 c. light corn syrup

2 1/2 c. sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 c extra strong tea of choice (I used Santa’s Secret, it was amazing.)

2 egg whites (save the yolks for Alpine Punch cookie press cookies!)

1 tsp peppermint (or vanilla or almond or whatever flavor of extract compliments the tea you’re using)

1 c chopped nuts (or, in my case, crushed peppermints!

Mix corn syrup, sugar, salt, and tea. Cook, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Then cook without stirring, to firm ball stage (248 degrees F) Beat egg whites until stiff. Pour half of the syrup over egg whites, beating constantly. Cook the rest of the syrup to thread stage (272 degrees F). Add slowly to other mixture, beat til it holds its shape and loses some of its glossiness. Add vanilla and nuts, drop onto wax paper or aluminum foil. Move quickly, as it starts to set pretty fast and then it’s not nearly as pretty. Still tastes good, though! The tea flavor really comes though but not overwhelmingly so. I want to make more, but this stuff is incredibly sweet.

Hope you enjoy this recipe, I know it’s one of my favorites. If you try it, let me know how it turns out! Stay tuned, my recipe for Alpine Punch cookie press cookies will hopefully be up sometime today or tomorrow!

One thought on “Tea Cooking Day! Santa’s Secret Divinity

Leave a Reply

